The Sun Is Also a Star - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sun Is Also a Star Reviews

Page 1 of 5
June 4, 2019
The narrative is as two-dimensional and tired as a Hallmark card penned by a checked-out writer who gave up coffee for Lent.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 19, 2019
If I were teen, I might like it. As a parent, the idea of falling in love in 24 hours makes me cringe. This film was not made for my skeptical heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 31, 2019
What could very well have been an important political romance shrinks sadly to another unremarkable meet-cute.
May 15, 2019
Without a doubt one of the corniest movies I've ever seen
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/10
May 17, 2019
It's a very progressively intentioned film but I found a lot of its ideas about love and romance regressive.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
May 17, 2019
The Sun Is Also a Star is a promising idea buried somewhere in a movie that focuses too much on teen romance bullet points.
May 22, 2019
Everything is kind of explained for you, to you...it feels like the theme of the movie is being explained, rather than experienced...
May 20, 2019
For all of its well-meaning examinations of race, The Sun Is Also a Star rests upon troubling casting...In many regards, The Sun Is Also a Star fights itself.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 20, 2019
A social analysis that's too passed through bleach. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
May 15, 2019
The performances here are fine. It's just that I have a hard time buying into what the film wants me to believe.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 16, 2019
We are told again and again that both protagonists have urgent, life-shaping matters to attend to, but-as portrayed on screen-the stakes couldn't feel less consequential. Nor could the circumstances that keep throwing them together feel more contrived.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 16, 2019
The protagonists do not escape the stereotyped construction of the film. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 22, 2019
Pretty, potential-filled, and ultimately a let-down.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 30, 2019
The Sun is Also a Star aims to cover the sun, but fails and the only thing it creates is story that does not transcend. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
May 16, 2019
Once again, with the odds stacked against them, two extremely attractive people have fallen in love.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 26, 2019
The film tries to exchange the romantic disbelief of the young adult genre with philosophical enigmas, but ends up returning to the comfortable embrace of the clichés. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 16, 2019
There are some forced disagreements, cheap philosophy and clips that explain from the theory of the multiverse. [Full review in Spanish]
June 5, 2019
Russo-Young loses her way in charming jokes and exaggerated dialogues. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 15, 2019
The sparks are few in this labored romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 15, 2019
Educational value of its title aside, The Sun Is Also a Star is a fairly limp romantic drama that attempts (and fails) to tie its core relationship to The Way We Live Now.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Page 1 of 5