Someone Great - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Someone Great Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 22, 2019
You don't go 5 minutes without alcohol or drugs being consumed or mentioned.
½ May 21, 2019
A comedy with few jokes and a drama with little genuine emotion, Someone Great felt like it was almost entirely improvised, with only the bare bones of the story being set down and the actors doing pretty much whatever they wanted. The result is an affair which is both tedious and confusing. The movie mistakes rapid-fire dialogue for wit and crude conversation and references for humour. The 3 leads have their moments, but mostly they're just ear-bleedingly loud and obnoxious; like those people who turn up uninvited at a party, ruin everyone's fun and refuse to leave. They spent almost the entire movie speaking way too fast to be understood, and the tragic story which is supposed to be at the centre is so uninteresting and unoriginal that I could never care about it. It doesn't contain very many surprises, and there are few characters who are actually fleshed out, rather than existing as cardboard cut-outs or plot devices. There are a few instances where it slows down and you can enjoy the bond between the trio, and it only lasts an hour and a half, so its not all misery. But I never got the feeling that it was working towards anything, and its motormouth, incomprehensible dialogue and episodic structure make it a movie I'm not planning on revisiting.
May 20, 2019
12/10 THIS IS GOD LEVEL. SUBTLE EVEYTHING. EVERYTHING HERE IS REAL. EVERYTHING. MASTER OF NONE VIBES.
½ May 18, 2019
It's a nightmare, specially the character "Nate"
May 15, 2019
I love this movie! It is because I relate to the friendships and relationships. It's funny, love the soundtrack, the writing is clever, love the style. Claps to the writers,actors,& Netflix.
½ May 11, 2019
I wasn't even a sobbing, brokenhearted woman and yet Someone Great made me feel like I was. The film has a very realistic take on relationships and breakups. Plus, the friendship that these three women has is one that I admire to have someday.
Super Reviewer
½ May 7, 2019
When the end credits roll you feel as if you had a pretty great day of partying in New York. There are drugs, there is sex, funky music and a lot of cursing. Reducing the film to the quirky humor, which relies on dialogue not on punchlines, wouldn't do it justice though. This story is primarily about a break-up, which makes for a couple of very touching and true moments too. The protagonist trio, especially Gina Rodriguez, has a fantastic comedic timing and turns a film without a plot to speak of into a pleasure from beginning to end.
½ May 6, 2019
This movie had no plot. Don't waste your time
½ May 5, 2019
I wasn't even a sobbing, brokenhearted woman and yet Someone Great made me feel like I was. The film has a very realistic take on relationships and breakups. Plus, the friendship that these three women has is one that I admire to have someday.
May 4, 2019
If you've been through a breakup with someone you truly loved, you can relate to this.
May 4, 2019
It's a great film. I love how the story goes with heartbreak and friendship and living the best life of your own. Though it's a mixed idealistic-realistic event, it's still great. Don't forget the soundtrack, it's one of the bests. Overall, it's a wonderful work.
½ May 4, 2019
I would give this movie zero stars if I could. THERE IS NO PLOT; the movie kind of just exists. It's is unbelievably slow.
May 3, 2019
The intensity in Jenny and Nates relationships really shows! Definitely felt the heartbreak.
May 3, 2019
Strengths: As always, one of the things that drives a romantic comedy is the relationship between the leads. Gina Rodriguez (Jenny Young) and Lakeith Stanfield (Nate Davis) have excellent chemistry. Though their story is mostly told through flashbacks, you appreciate their relationship. We get to see moments that feel very real and relatable. Though this is technically a romantic comedy, it's more about Jenny's relationship with her friends and how they grow. Brittany Snow (Blair Helms) and DeWanda Wise (Erin Kennedy) are both strong in their roles. It helps that they're given real arcs and aren't just comedic relief supporting characters. Blair grows into being comfortable with taking things in stride, while Erin allows love into her life. These are three-dimensional characters who matter. I loved the way the opening montage was done. We see how this relationship developed through social media and texts. It's creative, fresh, and a great way to tell a story in an economical way. The soundtrack also deserves praise. There's a lot of great music in this, from several different eras. It is used to hit on our nostalgia, but also to showcase what these characters mean to each other. There are a lot of funny moments in this thanks to some really witty banter.

Weaknesses: I wish there was a bit more of a definitive end to Jenny's story. She's a good character throughout, but her journey kind of ends in weak fashion. It feels like she doesn't fully come to terms with the breakup. Her friends get full arcs but hers kind of dies out. I think she could've used one final conversation with Nate to hammer home the ending. There are a few points where it feels like the characters are trying too hard to be edgy and it feels unauthentic.

Overall: One of the better movies I've seen from 2019 so far. There are a few issues with the story, but the dialogue, charm, creativity and talented cast are more than enough to make this a really fun movie.
May 2, 2019
This was the perfect lighthearted mindless movie I needed on a weekday night. It had great humor and a good storyline.
May 1, 2019
Really enjoyable- a bit more unique than many other films in this genre and the cast delivered some really funny lines.
½ April 30, 2019
Charismatic cast cannot save this film that doesnt know what it wants to be. The underdeveloped lead character's crazy night out after her boyfriend of 9 years dumps her is neither serious enough nor funny enough, and instead walks a boring middle ground that fails to keep the viewers interest. The movie then abruptly ends in a rushed manner.
½ April 29, 2019
I wanted to like this movie but it was just wayyy too extra and had too much overacting from Gina Rodriguez. It was like she was trying too hard for any of it to be real. Not very authentic.
April 29, 2019
Someone Great made me write a review which I never done. I am sold! I love everything about this movie. Sometimes some people do get tired of action, drama, reality shows, sci-fi, etc. This film would give you feels as close to reality as any film can get.
½ April 28, 2019
I liked "Someone Great" because of the convincing chemistry between the three leads and its attention on being realistic. There are many movies like this out there, but this one feels fresh because of how it really does feel like it takes place in the modern age. I thought it had funny and touching moments and I liked it overall. The movie is somewhat uneventful at times and the story does have slow segments. However, it is not very long and the pace picks up when it needs to and the message is an important one. It's a movie that should resonate with younger people in some way because the emotions and situations portrayed feel genuine.
Page 1 of 3