Rendez-Vous - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Rendez-Vous Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 15, 2013
A consummate cast of weak characters and classical music
½ March 2, 2013
A Classic of Téchiné
October 29, 2012
A stupid movie that wasted everybody's time, except you wana see pussy and boobs.
The director tried to make full sense of the movie with its crappy story-telling skills, yet it didnt make any sense at the end of the movie.
However, the actors and actresses were really awesome. Wasted good actors in this movie.
½ July 16, 2012
A bit late and misleading New Wave.
January 16, 2012
I don't really know what to say about this film. I'm still deciding and it's been a few months since I watched it. I'll let you decide.
½ June 16, 2011
Nina (Juliette Binoche) is a sexual free spirit living in Paris, hunting for apartments with her sleazeball of a real-estate agent, Paulot, whose haircut says "well-off English schoolboy" and whose jaw says "who butchered his mother and dissects stray cats". He rooms with broodingly handsome Quentin. Both Quentin and Paulot are immediately attracted to Nina, and go about wooing her in their own prickish ways (Quentin: threatening suicide, Paulot: bitching and undressing either himself or Nina alternately).

Nina goes for Quentin. Quentin has Paulot grope Nina. Quentin dies. Nina cries. Scrutzler shows up and casts Nina in his production of Romeo & Juliet. Nina struggles. Nina and Paulot FINALLY do the deed, and it is one of the most revolting sex scenes, ever. Scutzler leaves for England on the opening night of his play, leaving a bewildered Nina behind. End. This supposedly takes place over several years, though the pacing is such that it feels closer to two or three days. Also, Nina never changes clothes.

There is no feeling in this movie. It's eighty-eight minutes of flummoxing encounters and cringeworthy sex scenes and more issues than you can shake a stick at. There is no desperation. There is no love. There is no sexual tension (maybe because there is no buildup!). The only thing I can commend are the performances of Jean-Louis Trinignant and Juliette Binoche. 1 1/2 stars.
January 2, 2011
Je t'aime, je t'aime, je t'aime Julette Binoche
½ September 23, 2010
Un bon Téchiné, assez violent et provocateur. Juliette Binoche dans un de ses premiers rôles crève l'écran en provinciale débarquée à Paris, fragile et manipulable. A voir.
March 8, 2010
If you like Juliette, you will love this movie.
February 17, 2010
A very young JBinoche, a very sexy LWilson & the supremely sulky JLTrintignant, make a wonderful combination... O Romeo, Romeo, where art thou? A must see for all JBinoche & ATechine fans.
December 31, 2009
Recommended by Arianeta
Arianeta
Super Reviewer
December 28, 2009
I love this film. It is a dark and very powerful examination of love and sexual desire (very sensitive theme for some human minds) from the point of view of three emotionally scarred young people. The film is a lyrical and poetic exploration of love and loss, reality and fantasy. It is beautiful sexy and I can say an art-film. It won several prestigious international awards and is critically acclaimed. Juliette Binoche (very young and very beautiful at her first steps as an actress) is completely uninhibited and gives a great, brave and fearless performance. She bares herself completely...both emotionally and physically. For one more I say, this film is not intended for the immature. Those with childish minds who cannot handle looking at a beautiful woman's body (such as feminists or other philistines) are advised too avoid this film because of its theme. Nina (Juliette Binoche) moves to Paris and she becomes the love interest of three very different men and has concurrent relationships with each. Multiple plot and character lines develop from this. This movie will challenge you and you'll think of it days later.
½ December 11, 2009
Damn, Juliette Binoche was soOoooooo young..far far far more attractive than her current mature state.
December 2, 2009
early "Binoche" splending , a must see film for all her fans.
January 15, 2009
Weird movie ... I didn't really get the point ...
I just enjoyed the part that Nina was not understanding Romeo and Juliette and was questioning their love ... and I am wondering what happened to Paulo's love? Does love vanish as soon as you reach it?
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
September 13, 2008
Dripping with moist bravado and sexual insight,a provocative illusion by Techine on the sharp edge of his career and beginning of creative roll.Binoche blasts the screen in a classic performance,commercial failure but critical applaud,post-modern theater/cinema interaction and one of the seminal films about sexual frustration and need.
½ August 15, 2008
maybe there is no good acting but Im really impressed Quantin .its about Love and passion and art.Looking relationships in a different way.Andre Techine is really good at making stratnge relationship movies .the next movie is "The whiteness" for me
½ August 8, 2008
A very strange film. I want to blame it on the fact that it was French, but I had the sub titles on and I have seen many French films, so movie really was just strange. This movie was more unrealistic and pointless than anything else, making it bad.
July 27, 2008
I hated all the characters - their choices were amazingly stupid. Love and passion and art are wonderful but not these artistes.
½ July 7, 2008
my second encounter with juliette binoche. the film deals with some fundamental binaries that mess up ordinary people's mind once we start thinking about them--art and truth, authenticity and mimicry, love and lust, the self and the other, and the spirit and the body. all these things, of course, are breathing through the art of theatre and film, as this film contains both in one vision.
Page 1 of 2