Long Shot - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Long Shot Reviews

Page 1 of 19
½ May 24, 2019
This had standard Seth Rogen dick and fart jokes. It rode in on high laughs and got stale very quick. Standard fat guy gets hot chic story through to the end. Missed on multiple levels.
May 22, 2019
Political comedy that's not in your face but also an absurd fresh take on romantic comedy. Does not blow you away but many great laughs. Honestly better than what I thought it would be and I think the best the movie could be.
May 22, 2019
Everything seems a bit forced in this film plus, there is no originality and the actual funny moments are very few.
May 22, 2019
Really enjoyed this! Seth Rogen and Charlize Theron are both great, really funny. It was a nice take on essentially a rom-com and of course relevant to all the terrible things happening these days, but gave a nice bit of hope!
½ May 22, 2019
I didn't like Seth Rogen's acting peformance, but the movie is full of laughs. 7/10
May 22, 2019
The chemistry is great and you are in for a barrel of laughs.
½ May 22, 2019
Surprisingly good. Rogen and Theron have good chemistry and I was surprised to find that at times Theron was funnier than Rogen. The movie definitely touches on political elements, but in my opinion it's not overly in your face.
May 22, 2019
UNDERRATED !!! Bummed to see it not perform at the box office. Great RomCom!
May 22, 2019
Smarter and funnier comedy than I expected. A good job by the two main characters, I really loved this movie!!!
May 22, 2019
Can't a movie get good ratings just for being full on entertaining? This movie was just that. Many big laughs, a little romance, some fun political humor. Loved it!
May 21, 2019
"50/50" director Jonathan Levine continues his jaunt down studio comedy lane with "Long Shot," a film whose first and second halves may not exactly line up in terms of tone, but whose leads are just charismatic and likable enough to get you through its excessive runtime. There's just a general watchability when it comes to Rogen and Theron's chemistry that pervades through even some of the slower parts of the plot, which does end up spreading itself too thin, to say the least. The humor works, though there are more than a handful of jokes that sort of fall out of the realm of "sophisticated political satire" and into the "2010's SNL skit" pool, ultimately hampering the overall comedic identity as a whole. Again, it's not perfect at all, but it is an effort of sorts.
May 21, 2019
A lot of laughs, smart script, great acting, sexy, an almost-great movie. Minus one star because they blew it in a few places by going with cliche and formula (which was completely unnecessary).
½ May 21, 2019
They have great, funny, believable chemistry. Particularly enjoyed their dancing scene and the music at the end. I like the swapping of gender roles and the imagining of a female president. I liked the friendship twist towards the end and thought it brought up some important points. Her last, plot-changing speech was relatable and likeable.
May 21, 2019
Best comedy I have seen in a long time. Loved!!!!!
May 21, 2019
Really well written for the hyper silly angle its going for, laughed the hardest I had in ages. Loved it and recommend it.

Really helps that my expectations lied elsewhere because the trailers frame it as a chickflick, wasn't expecting such a good comedy.
May 20, 2019
It was ok but never, ever do you see a movie where the man is beyond handsome and the girl is plain and he falls in love with her. You never see a movie like that. Yet, here we are with the woman being beyond beautiful and a plain man - who lacks presence of any kind and she falls in love with him. Wow....same old hollywood
May 20, 2019
Very good entertainment. Funny and well written. It goes by fast. This is one of the more under-rated movies of the year!
May 20, 2019
Wonderfully funny and smart.
May 20, 2019
So i am very basic and easy to be enjoyed and this movie just gave me a right, warm feeling. Could be, that i am not really a "movie geek", but it just went straight into my heart.
May 20, 2019
Absolutely brilliant!
Page 1 of 19