Ladies in Black - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ladies in Black Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 27, 2019
Ladies in Black (2018) #MovieReview 3,0 ‚≠?Ôł? As est√≥rias de mulheres que trabalham em uma loja de departamentos na Austr√°lia. Filme rom√Ęntico, fofinho como p√£o de l√≥ e caf√ (C) da tarde, bem Sess√£o da Tarde.
April 27, 2019
Really enjoyed this charming film. I felt transported to the period and the locale. The characters were all very well played, especially Lisa and her mom, Faye, Rudy, and of course Julie Ormond as Magda. I recommend it to anyone who appreciates period drama and romantic, sentimental films.
½ April 26, 2019
Might not look like a Christmas story because of the setting and the good weather, but "Ladies in Black" is indeed a Christmas story. Is light-hearted and simple and soft and... yes, a decent movie. Costumes and settings are great, but the story doesn't have any depth at all! So let's take out the word "Drama" in de description and watch it with your teenager daughter, and all will be hunky dory, but don't expect much more than that!
March 24, 2019
loved this beautiful Australian film.
March 12, 2019
Ladies in Black is a 2018 Australian comedy-drama film directed by Bruce Beresford.
This is a simple story from 1959 Sydney, featuring appropriate period settings and costumes. It flows along without having any real substance to it, and while ultimately forgettable, it is a pleasant movie to watch.
AACTAN
February 2, 2019
Want a fun nostalgia move with beautiful scenery, dresses and actors? This is your perfect escapist movie. And there is nothing wrong with that.
January 15, 2019
Reminded me of going to The Store with my Nan. We dressed up in our best and everything was so posh! Delightful movie, really enjoyed it
½ January 11, 2019
Great memories of hw Sydney was when I was a little girl.
November 27, 2018
I leave the cinema feeling like my insides have been scrubbed across a washboard with a yellow cake of sunlight soap. Very sweet moments but an ulimately facile storyline and too many red-herring character angles which lead nowhere - for example the woman with the strange absentee husband who returned and suddenly all was forgiven. The overwhelming rage she demonstrated after him just heading off for a few months without telling her, fixed with a good root and everything now hunky-dory. What was this particular plotline meant to show us? The utter plonkiness of the Australian Male who is so hopeless withi his feelings that he just goes walkabout rather than talk to his wife? Well maybe this wasn't too far from the truth, but it was handled clumsily and without any sympathy for the bloke in question, he just looked brain dead.

The young ingenue Lisa is the main character, or plot device - this is a coming of age story about both Australia in the 1950s as 'Wog' food is making its tentative way into Australian society, and the young ingenue Lisa is positively influenced by a Wog mentor, brought to the bosom of immigrant Hungarians/ Easgtern Europeans struggling with the uncouth Australian ugliness. Not to mention that these Wogs have found the most beautiful places of Sydney to live in as compensation (Mosman etc). Through them, Lisa is explosed to the intellectual life of literature, music - a littany of cliches about high culture. The concept is bluntly but aptly put.

Australian acting Golds Noni Hazelhurst, Shane Plumber and Susy Porter are dumbed down to play second fiddle to a mostly mute but radiantly gorgeous young Lisa. It's a shame the whole lot was airbrushed in a most glib fashion, to merely observe set pieces rather than delve into anything of very much depth.
All in all this film was OK
November 13, 2018
Thoroughly enterTaining from beginning to end. Loved the characters, music and fashion.
November 6, 2018
Just watched it and I was not disapointed. A funny and great movie.
October 29, 2018
Just loved it!! Great Australian film...excellent cast and loved, loved the fashion!!
October 28, 2018
Brought me right back with its authenticity and charm. What a feel good movie
October 27, 2018
Better than the novella maybe, but nowhere near as good as the musical. Still, there is a lot of charm to this coming of age Australian tale. It is a simple enough story that has appealing ring of truth to it. The changing cultural landscape of 1950s Sydney is shown through the experience of young Lisa working at a department store's ladies' gowns department during the Christmas break while awaiting her leaving certificate results. There are some lovely, empowering moments and messages, especially from Noni Hazlehurst's Miss Cartwright, the long term matron of the store's ladies in black. It is still very much of its time though, resulting in some audible audience reactions to her father's comments about women and education.
October 23, 2018
This was a thoroughly beautiful movie and a total delight. For me, it is rare that a movie satisfies me as much as this one. The story, the characters, the actors, I loved it all. Having grown up in Sydney in the 1970's I could relate to so much of this film and I plan to see it again.
½ October 14, 2018
A real feel good film that takes you back to a time and place not readily explored. thoroughly engaging story and characters. Touches on the issues of the time but remains light and offers a laugh or two as well.
October 12, 2018
It is not common for me write a review actually this is my first but this just film I felt worthy.

It's a film where not much actually happens but what a joyous ride it's takes you on none the less. In an era that changed Australia forever, it was so interesting to see what our cultural identity was and what it is to become and why.

So do yourself a favour!
October 8, 2018
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie - I thought the pacing was spot on, the soundtrack was beautiful and the camera work fantastic. The mother and daughter dancing together was a bit odd but served to reinforce the very close only daughter-mother bond, and the likely loneliness of the mother being married to a husband who lacked depth. I actually found myself sobbing at the scene where the Noni Hazlehurst character gives advice to the young school leaver. I thought the screenplay was excellent in the way it dealt with a whole range of important issues (still relevant today) in such a subtle way.
½ October 8, 2018
Shocking script, cringe worthy dialogue and scenes. Couldn't get invested in the characters as it jumped around too much, not developing any of them enough; it was all a bit light on. The editing was also weird with historic footage thrown in without connecting it to the rest of the film well. Julia's performance and character was the best and most interesting of the film. That said, it was a shame to have wasted the money to watch it.
October 7, 2018
2 hours of pure bliss. At this moment in time movies such as Ladies in Black are so important, much much more than entertainment.
Page 1 of 2