Ji jie hao (Assembly) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ji jie hao (Assembly) Reviews

Page 1 of 17
December 28, 2015
This is absolutely one of my favorite Chinese movies of all time. I don't want to spoil it but briefly this is about a soldier striving for gaining acknowledgement and honors for his brothers who died in the Chinese civil war. The acting of every actor in this movie is fantastic, especially the protagonist Captain Gu (by Hanyu Zhnag). I instantly became a fan of his after I watched this movie. The war scenes are probably one of the best I have ever seen and the movie is really deep in the second half.

I read some of the reviews here which really amused me. Several of the reviewers, which represent a quite big population of the western world, still possess the cold-war ideology and see anything coming from China through tinted lens. Anything coming from China must carry a purpose of propaganda from the demonized Communist party. So even though they love the movie, they still want to be cautious enough to avoid being too appreciative because this movie is produced by the biggest "Communist" and perhaps "evil" country on earth. After I live in the US for over 10 years, I literally kept being astonished by how more ideological western people can be than Chinese people. Frankly speaking, Chinese people love western countries and cultures while are proud of their own. Chinese government and media do not demonize western world nowadays and rather, has been very open about the influx of western cultures and thoughts. I rarely heard that Chinese audience complain about American propaganda after watching American Sniper or Black Hawk Down. Rather, what I heard most from Chinese audiences were praises about how well these movies were made and how behind Chinese movies were left.

It's kinda off topic. But my point is, please leave out your prejudice and ideologism against China when you view this movie. Please try to evaluate it from a neutral and objective perspective.
May 5, 2014
A moving film about how those who fight to liberate their country (and are unwittingly sacrificed for a "greater good") can be forgotten and buried under the ingratitude and indifference of officialdom and bureaucracy... until one man's tenacity gains them postumous recognition.
October 20, 2013
An epic war movie about the chinese civil war, followed by the aftermath of a soldier who seeks out his comrades who died during the war. A very well done movie, highly recommended.
October 11, 2013
Epic and outstanding.
October 3, 2013
Highly impressive war film. The footage of the battle scenes is nothing less than spectacular.
Cinema-Maniac
Super Reviewer
January 20, 2013
I chose to watch this war film because the back of my DVD box said "From the team that brought you Tae Guk Gi: The Brotherhood of War" which is one of my favorite war movies. I chose to check this out and while it wasn't at the level I was Ji Jie Hao (Assembly) is a solid war film.

Ji Jie Hao (Assembly) follows a soldier who fights to gain recognition for comrades who died during the Chinese Civil War. I didn't like the first half of this movie. It felt like a Micheal Bay movie where the focus was on the explosions and action. I usually don't have a problem with violence, except I knew nothing about the soldiers who died in the first halve. There's literally a scene where Hanyu Zhang just finishes introducing his new officer to his when BOOM. A big battle just occurs and some of the soldiers we were just introduced too also die. While the action scenes where spectacular to view in the first halve, they came at a cost sacrificing any characterization for any other soldier. I did love the second half of the movie for it became a gripping war drama. I sympathize for PLA captain Gu Zidi for trying to gain his fallen brothers recognition. It was sad and handle really well. I liked learning more about Gu Zidi and how the war itself affected him. The second half had characterization which was missing from the first halve of the movie. Ji Jie Hao (Assembly) is simply a movie that doesn't know what it wants to be a action driven war picture or a focus drama on Gu Zidi personal struggles. It's not all bad though, it was good production values and it shows allot of effort went into making this. I don't dislike this movie, I love the second halve of this war film, but the first halve sacrifices characterization of soldiers for big set-pieces ultimately results in the viewer not sharing the same feelings for Gu Zidi fallen brothers.

Ji Jie Hao is a lackluster action film and potent war drama mixed together. As long as you don't have big expectations, for the first at least, you will find yourself enjoying a solid war film.
August 28, 2012
One of the best war movie ever...
July 18, 2012
If you're a soldier or have been one, you'll love Captain Gu Zidi's unwavering loyalty, honour for country and patriotism eschewed in prolonged pain and regret of leading his comrades to death by standing their ground...
July 11, 2012
The Film follows a soldier, trying to gain recognition for comrades who died in 1948, at an area which is now a local mine area. An area that in 1948 witnessed a terrible massacre of his men and a massacre he felt he could of prevented.

Ji Jie Hao is a powerful war film with a number of heart felt performances, especially from its lead Hanyu Zhang.
There are sections of the film which may lag in pace in the final third of the film, the action though in the first couple of acts are spot on.
A Special note must be given to a tank set piece which precedes the massacre of the final group of soldiers, a well structured brutal scene, which musters enough emotion and courage, it is up there with any Hollywood war picture, could create.

The film ultimately leaves a special message of the effects of war, and human waste which wars create.
½ June 20, 2012
"Assembly" es una pelicula que captura perfectamente los horrores de la guerra. La cinta dedica su primera mitad a escenas intensas de combate y la segunda a las consecuencias que trajo consigo esta guerra en particular para un batallon dedicado que fue olvidado por su ejercito.
La cinta se enfoca en el personaje del capitan del batallon, quien sobrevive a pesar de quedarse casi completamente ciego despues de que le explota una mina. "Assembly" es una pelicula china muy bien montada que resulta conmovedora en su exploracion del sacrificio en el campo de batalla. Recomendable.
garyX
Super Reviewer
May 30, 2012
The captain of a squad who were wiped out defending a crucial position during the Chinese civil war suffers survivor's guilt and obsessively sets about trying to find their bodies and prove their heroic sacrifice. Assembly is very similar in both style and substance to Korean war film Brotherhood. It too centres around the discovery of fallen soldiers and representing their bravery in some brutally realistic battle sequences. It also shares the same strengths and witnesses of Je-kyu Kang's film in that it relies slightly too much on melodrama and manipulation for its characterisation despite the impressively epic scale of the surrounding violence. The battle scenes are very much from the Saving Private Ryan school, realistically recreating the horrors of war but the characters themselves get a little lost amidst all the flying masonry and body parts meaning that it's difficult to form any emotional connection to them, leaving the rest of the film lacking the context and resonance it really needed. Visually it is very impressive indeed however, making for a well performed and well intentioned film that's worth seeing for its sheer spectacle alone.
½ April 2, 2012
Brilliant, brutal and very entertaining.
March 15, 2012
The Chinese civil war for someone who is not Chinese is possibly the most confusing thing ever. Loads of Chinese people in similar uniforms blowing the hell out of each other with oil barrells and giant fluffy handgrenades. For some reason they cannot fight without the guidance of political officers... odd.
Anyways our man and his group of soldiers bravely take on a tank battallion and get their asses kicked and somehow he loses all the bodies in a mine. He wakes up in the Korean war and no one believes his tales of bravery so he spends the rest of the movie moaning.
½ February 22, 2012
if you think they can't make a good movie, you were wrong. it's a piece of art, of a burden carried by duty that most people nowadays were unfamiliar with it. but for some people, duty is above everything...even above life.

so, enjoy this celebration of duty and burden
½ January 24, 2012
One of the best war movies in a long time... comparable to Saving Private Ryan this is an extremely interesting period piece.
January 19, 2012
A film of 2 halves. First hour was intense and brutal, comparable to Rorke's Drift with the filmic style of Saving Private Ryan.
January 15, 2012
Muito bom. Mostra que no mundo não tem só heroi americano.
½ January 13, 2012
"Dutiful" might be the best term to describe Assembly, as it never rises above a general competence of vision.
January 7, 2012
Brilliant in every way possible, the first hour gives you the action while the next presents the emotional. A must watch.
½ October 1, 2011
Right from the jump a fantastic mariot of blood and bullets get sprayed onto the screen! Some excellent action and action make this if nothing else, the Asian version of 'Saving Private Ryan'. A great story and true story. '71 Into the Fire', 'Brotherhood of War' and now this. I'm now a massive fan of the 1990's - 2000's Asian war film genre. These film are carried out with class and respect.
Page 1 of 17